South Africa’s latest Ramsar wetlands

 We last visited a Ramsar wetland in southern Africa on 8 May 2017, the Bot-Kleinmond Estuarine near Hermanus in the Western Cape. Since then, 5 more wetlands in South Africa received Ramsar status. This brings the total number of Ramsar wetlands in South Africa to 28 (including the Prince Edwards Islands).

There are several reasons why we have not visited these Ramsar wetlands, but we hope to do so in the near future. 

In the meantime, we have included a summary for each of these wetlands. Click on Reports or on the name of the wetland below:

Dassen Island Nature Reserve

Dyer and Geyser Island Provincial Nature Reserve

Kgaswane Mountain Reserve

Ingula Nature Reserve

Berg Estuary